RSS

The Carol of Bells and Thankfullness

25 Nov

bells

On the eve of Thanksgiving, it strikes me that there has been such a poison injected into the hearts of many. Both in this country and the world.
Instead of focusing on what is good and right, the things we should be thankful for; because of the poison of racial and identity politics, most are focusing on what others have that they don’t.
Although this is a bit early, I think the following lines of this poem should resound. The poem, “I heard the bells on Christmas day” was written in the year 1863 by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Do some research, and understand the environment in which he wrote these words:

And in despair I bowed my head;
“There is no peace on earth,” I said;

For hate is strong
And mocks the song

Of peace on earth, good-will to men!

Then pealed the bells more loud and deep;
“God is not dead, nor doth He sleep;

The wrong shall fail,
The right prevail,

With peace on earth, good-will to men.”

I think this is as pertinent today, as it was when it was written during the American Civil War. Think on these things:

What is good about my life?
What are the blessings I need to be thankful for?
What can I do to make the world a better place?

Phillippians 4:8

My best to you all. I am Thankful for so much in this life, even though it can be hard to find at times. You are among those blessings.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 25, 2015 in Faith and Religion

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
