RSS

At the American Crossroads: Future, Fear, and Faith

08 Nov

img_9301

Tomorrow we come to a crossroads.

Tomorrow, American voters will decide the future leader of our Nation.  Will we continue down what the supporters of the Administration of the Last eight years continue to label the path of ‘Change’?  Or will we switch tack and little-by-little return the Nation to something more closely reflecting the path the framers of our Constitution intended?

No matter what party or personality one may support or despise, one will be elected and will lead our Government for better or worse for the next four years.  I believe, unlike any time since World War II, we need to collectively fall to our knees in prayer and ask God what Leader is his will.  But here’s the thing:  to many, this Nation is now a ‘Post Christian’ Nation, with a growing number of citizens not believing in God or not actively practicing the faith that Americans have always had in abundance.  However, He’s not surprised, and all will be used to fulfill his plan.  If We, the People elect a Leader not of God’s will, if we believe in him and ask his forgiveness, he will lead us through.

If my words about God and my expression of my faith offend you:  Leave.  Don’t read another word I’ve written.  Unless you are open minded enough and honest enough with yourself, I don’t want you reading this and I absolutely will not accept any abusive comments.  See this IS America, and I am free to think and write my thoughts as I choose.  But if you feel a stirring inside your heart,listen to it.  For those are when what you are being told, what you are taking in, what God is putting on your heart is the most important.  And I’d be honored to play a part in helping that occur.

In any case, I believe God is not done with America.  I believe we still matter to him, and that we all still have a major part to play in his plans for the future.  I hope our Nation matters enough to us all for us to make the choice to do our best to preserve her, and return her to health for our children and theirs.

I AM THE FLAG

I am the flag of the United States of America.

My name is Old Glory.
I fly atop the world’s tallest buildings.
I stand watch in America’s halls of justice.
I fly majestically over institutions of learning.
I stand guard with power in the world.
Look up and see me.

I stand for peace, honor, truth and justice.
I stand for freedom. I am confident.
I am arrogant. I am proud.
When I am flown with my fellow banners,
My head is a little higher,
My colors a little truer.
I bow to no one!
I am recognized all over the world.
I am worshiped – I am saluted.
I am loved – I am revered.
I am respected – I am feared.

I have fought in every battle of every war for more than 200 years.
I was flown at Valley Forge, Gettysburg, Shiloh and Appamatox.
I was there at San Juan Hill, the trenches of France, in the Argonne Forest, Anzio, Rome and the beaches of Normandy.
Guam, Okinawa, Korea and KheSan, Saigon, Vietnam know me.
I was there. I led my troops.
I was dirty, battleworn and tired,
but my soldiers cheered me and I was proud.

I have been burned, torn and trampled on the streets of countries
I have helped set free. It does not hurt for I am invincible.
I have been soiled upon, burned, torn and trampled in the streets of my country.
And when it’s done by those whom I’ve served in battle – it hurts.
But I shall overcome – for I am strong.
I have slipped the bonds of earth and
stood watch over the uncharted frontiers of space from my vantage point on the moon.
I have born silent witness to all of America’s finest hours.
But my finest hours are yet to come.
When I am torn into strips and used as bandages for my wounded comrades on the battle field,
when I am flown at half-mast to honor my soldier,
or when I lie in the trembling arms of a grieving parent at the grave of their fallen son or daughter,

I am proud.
I am the flag of the United States of America.

My dream is of a place and a time where America will once again be seen as the last best hope of earth.      -Abraham Lincoln

god-bless-america

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
