RSS

Life is a Highway: Windshield Time and the Healing of the Soul

27 Jan

20170120_152700

Life’s like a road that you travel on
When there’s one day here and the next day gone
Sometimes you bend and sometimes you stand
Sometimes you turn your back to the wind
There’s a world outside every darkened door
Where blues won’t haunt you anymore
Where brave are free and lovers soar
Come ride with me to the distant shore

– Life is a Highway – Rascal Flatts

I recently made several day trips around the state I live in.  On one, I had a free day and wanted to get out of town.  The other, I decided to go visit one of my best friends from College.  As much as I like being home and sitting back and relaxing, there is at times a definite draw to the road.

What is it about getting in a car, starting it up, and pointing it toward the horizon? True, if you have plans in other cities with people you love, that is draw enough.  Sometimes, it is work awaiting…down the street, across town, hours away.  But are these the only things that draw us?

There is definitely something about being on the open road, listening to the hum of the engine.  The gentle vibration of the tires on the road.  The feel of the sun on your face through the windshield.  The air whistling in through an open window. The ever changing beauty of the world we live in.

But depending on the type of trip, there can be so much more.  For me, I believe I do some of my best thinking while on the road.  There, I’m free from distraction and can focus my soul on any matter at hand.  It’s not always been pleasant:  I’ve worried about loved-ones, I’ve tried to keep tears from coming as I mourn the loss of a significant other, I’ve shouted curses at those who’ve wronged me, I’ve laughed with my child, I’ve prayed to God for forgiveness.

No matter what’s going through my mind…..or sitting on my heart, I find that if I’m able to be honest with myself and really think it through, that by the end of a long drive I’m usually able to find some peace.  However, I don’t think that it’s simply the time….Maybe, just maybe, God uses those times with me to really make it time to meet.  Time to talk.  Time to Forgive.  Time to Heal and learn to breathe and live again.

For those reasons, I am so thankful.

Ask yourself:  Is there any business I need to take care of?  What condition is my heart in?  Is there anything on my mind or in my heart I need to release?  If the answer is yes, then give it a try.  The road, the world, and the source of life are waiting.  May your trip be safe, and may you arrive at your destination with a more healthy heart, ready to live again!

thinkstockphotos-180289259-640x213

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
