RSS

Time:The Unseen Gift

09 Feb

the-clock“There’s only one thing more precious than our time and that’s who we spend it on.”

– Leo Christopher

 

“Isn’t Monday over yet?”

“Wow, that was quick!”

So many times in life, we either lament how long something is taking, like our day at work.  Or we are caught by surprise when seemingly no time passes and something ends or happens “In a blink of an eye.”These are all normal human reactions to something our lives are built on, dictated by, and ultimately measured by:

Time.

But is it just a man-made unit of measure meant to ensure the lives of all people are in synch?  To make it easier to ensure life can be scheduled?  Or in fact, is it much more……one of the true gifts of life itself?

I think the answer is best found when listening to the thoughts and words of those we love and those we care for…….something we all too easily miss:

“Can I borrow a few minutes with you?”

“I wish we had more time…”

“I’ve been so busy, I haven’t had the time.”

“I miss you…”

“Can you play with me Daddy?”

“I wish I’d taken more time…”

This has been bouncing around my head for some time, but only really came into focus as a result of a conversation with a new friend.  We are still getting to know one another little by little, and as crazy as life is for two divorced parents of young children, we’ve been able to make time to allow them to play,  which gives us time to talk.  What really drew this subject into focus was a statement my friend made:  “I’m gone so much, I feel guilty”.  Then after talking a bit more, it hit us both when the following was said “Time is truly a Gift.”

No matter what our lives are like, when we make the time to get together with a loved-one or a friend…..recognize that time for the gift it truly is!  It may feel like it’s not enough, but instead, think on these things:  In that time, that gift, we will multiply it millions of times over with the words we speak to each other, the smiles we give, the laughter or tears share, or the deep feelings we talk about.  These and many other things add immense value with the renewed connections we make between our hearts….our souls.

We are only given this one life……and there is nothing more precious than our time.  Ask anyone that has suffered the loss of a Loved one what they wish they had more with.  As one who no longer has my Grandparents, the answer is easy:  Time.

In the words of Kenny Chesney:

Don’t blink
Just like that you’re six years old and you take a nap and you
Wake up and you’re twenty-five and your high school sweetheart becomes your wife
Don’t blink
You just might miss your babies growing like mine did
Turning into moms and dads next thing you know your “better half”
Of fifty years is there in bed
And you’re praying God takes you instead
Trust me friend a hundred years goes faster than you think
So don’t blink

So Thank you, my friend.  Thank you for sharing some of your time with me.  I so value your thoughts, your words, your wisdom.  You greatly inspire me.  I hope that I can also, having this fresh perspective make valuable investments of time in the lives of all those in my life.  In those lives I’ve not yet crossed paths with.

Time is the most valuable thing we possess.  Make the most of it!

 

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
